From where I stand (Pt.3): Integrity and Commitments

DC_057_Lent_Easter-Sunday-01.jpg

We build relationships and trust through a person’s consistency and keeping his word, right?

I have had so much experience about delivering on promises and work, with me missing a lot of them in the past. Though that has lessened today (I hope!), I still miss some of them. This I try to keep to a minimum because even in this field of design, what I truly try and take care of is my name and reputation. It’s like if someone is asked on your name, what would their first response be? Jolly? Witty? Creative? Committed? As for me, I’d like to be known as someone who delivers and solves problems.

If there’s someone I personally know who really I can trust in terms of work, it’s my good friend Santa Bondesto. I have known her from 2011 and I know her work ethic. I always say to people, “If you want something done (events), ask Santa.” She goes above and beyond and ensures that things do get done, sometimes to a fault because she would sacrifice health and family time just to ensure items are in place.

But of course, she does have her share of shortcomings and broken promises but because of her reputation, I give her some leeway.

For our leaders, and for ourselves too as we lead, we want to have consistency in what we say and do. If we want to lead effectively, we’d want to have integrity as our solid foundation. That starts with being able to do what we say, and be consistent about it.

If there’s one man who said something so ridiculous but actually went over it, it was Jesus.

Then Jesus said, “The Son of Man must suffer many things. He will be rejected by the older Jewish leaders, the leading priests, and teachers of the law. And he will be killed. But after three days he will be raised from death.” (Luke 9:22 ESV)

Jesus knew He had to suffer and die. Even Him being God, He was at that point fully human as well. Meaning, emotions, the physical torment, it was real. One cannot deny the fact that even with Him being divine, it won’t soften the blows come at the point of Him being punished and crucified.

But He actually went through it, just as He said. But the clincher was Him being raised from the dead.

“And if Christ has not been raised, then our preaching is in vain and your faith is in vain.” (1 Corinthians 15:14 ESV)

You see, Jesus told us He’ll come back. This sealed the deal of Him being able to deliver on His Words. This was an undeniable event that turned His disciples who were so afraid when Jesus was crucified to men and women who boldly proclaimed His Gospel to people even to the point of their own death too. People would gladly die for truths they believe in and surely, if the disciples just fabricated what they saw,  they surely would have loved their life first and said “Sorry, there, I lied.”

The disciples saw Jesus as a leader, and more importantly, Lord. He delivered on His promise and we thank Him for that because that means He will deliver on other things that He promised too. That’s a leader worth following. That means He also was serious about this:

“Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. (John 14:6 ESV)

TMay we always see Jesus as the source of our strength and inspiration, that He is a deliverer, a promise-keeper, and most important: Lord.

Were you LIT UP? Let me know!

